Posted by: D.I.Yives | December 14, 2012

Blogger Brista Talks About Pain

Brittany from the blog http://alittleitchy.blogspot.com/ is great at describing things. This week in the ITSAN Google Forum she explained to someone the type of pain that our skin goes through. A mother of an RSS patient had expressed that she really wanted to understand the pain her child is going through. So Brittany obliged her with this answer:

“I’m 7 months TS-free and I understand the skin pain all too well! I have recently started taking 400 mg/day ibuprofen which seems to help for a little while. Right now the pain is much worse than the itch. Up until recently, most of the time I didn’t notice the pain as much because the itch was so intense that I couldn’t think of anything else! But my itch is starting to be less intense (although it’s definitely THERE, it’s like white noise in the background that I can ignore most of the time) and that’s probably why the pain is more noticeable.

It’s hard to describe but for me, there are a couple different kinds of pain:

  1. Scraped – This is what I feel most often and on my arms & hands especially (which are my worst parts. Have you had a really bad sunburn? Now imagine you have that really bad sunburn all over then you fall down a gravel hill then skid across the pavement. My skin feels like that. I feel like I’m scraped all over, like a million tiny paper cuts cover my body.
  2. Sore – Especially when I have a big scratching frenzy.
  3. Skin is too tight. I don’t really know how to describe this but it hurts. I try to turn my head or open my mouth and I can’t because the skin is so dry and tight. I guess this sort of goes with the soreness feeling.
  4. Burning – As if you had a sunburn then soaked the raw skin in rubbing alcohol all over
  5. Zappy nerve tingles – I’ve had these painful zaps all over my body sporadically but I get these in my breasts regularly and they HURT! It’s like an electric zap/needle jab.”

I really appreciated this answer, as it expresses what we are going through very well.

Thanks Brittany for letting me quote you. Press on girl!

Responses

  1. […] for controlling the pain, still working on that.  I […]


Categories

