Posted by: eczemancipated | January 14, 2014

Compression Bandages and Rolled Gauze

Today I would like to discuss the topic of Compression Bandages and Rolled Gauze. I am in my 20th month of Topical Steroid Withdrawal recuperation. I have been through boxes of Gauze bandages and more recently added Compression Bandages to my repertoire.

Fun fact: If you live in the United States, as I do, and you have health insurance or medicare/medical (I get confused which is which), then you will be happy to know that a prescription written from your physician is all you need for the majority of the cost of your compression bandages to be covered. I only had to pay around $35 towards approximately $550 worth of Juzo Compression Bandages.

Fun fact: Not all compression bandages can be washed and dried in a machine, so take care to read the instructions in order to care for them properly. From what I have read you will get a good 6 months out of them before you need a new prescription.

Fun Fact: You can order Rolled Gauze in bulk through Medical Supply Websites. This is both cheaper and more practical then getting them in the store. If you are like me, you will go through BOXES and BOXES. We order from http://www.vitalitymedical.com

COMPRESSION BANDAGES VS. ROLLED GAUZE

I do not find that one particular option is better than the other. I find that which bandage you choose should be based on what symptoms you are experiencing. Such as:

Oozing
Open wounds
Infections
Skin temperature
Allergic reaction (skin tolerance)
Travel needs (are you going to drive or fly long distances, etc.)
Exercise capabilities (are you still bed ridden or are you up and around at all)

Rolled Gauze, in my opinion, should be used when your skin is oozing has open wounds and/or some types of infections. (Other infections should be exposed to the air and left to dry. Gauze can hold in too much moisture and spread the infection.) Frequent bandage changes are a good idea to keep the skin clean and prevent infections or reduce some infections from spreading. They are also disposable so you will not need to wash them, which may be more practical if you don’t feel well. You’ll just make a lot of garbage instead of laundry. (haha) Gauze can absorb oozing. You must be careful though not to take off the crusty layer beneath the gauze when it dries, it will hurt and possible start oozing again. Antibiotic ointment/cream, essential oils and moisture may be tucked away beneath a layer of gauze. An open wound maybe wrapped tightly so as not to expose it to infection when out in public. Rolled Gauze will wrap around just about any area of the body. I used only Rolled Gauze from May 2012 – October 2013.

Compression Bandages, in my opinion, are great when you are  no longer bed ridden, starting to get out and about a bit, traveling and walking. I had to fly across America in the end of October and again in November. As, I had been experiencing a lot of Lymph Edema and no longer experiencing open wounds or infections (at that particular moment) I decided to get Dr. Rapaport to prescribe Compression Bandages. I was afraid such an extended period of time in the plane would make my body swell and cause the more fragile areas of my skin to re-split open or the cracks to get much larger. I was so pleased with both the reduction in my itch level and the reduced swelling while I was wearing my Juzo Compression Bandages on my hands, arms and legs. I actually thought to myself I should have gotten the Compression Bandages in the summer, as my skin had greatly repaired between June 2013 and August 2013.  Since I have been running more errands and attempting to take walks regularly, I also found the Compression Bandages to be particularly helpful on days where I was extremely swollen. The only down side is that I do not have many pairs of Compression Bandages and do not do my laundry daily. So I do not always have a clean pair to wear and will go with out. I plan on ordering several more pairs just from my hands, as these are what I wear most frequently.

Skin Allergies, Skin Tolerance and Skin Temperature are something worth considering when choosing bandages. I find that my skin will sweat at times whether I wearing Rolled Gauze and Compression Bandages. So either way it can become a bother. If your skin can not tolerate the materials of the bandages, don’t give up hope. All is not lost. I found that at different stages of healing I have begun to tolerate more fabrics and different blends of materials in the Gauze. There is no way I could have tolerated Compression Bandages prior to my 13/14th month off of steroids. I was getting so many skin infections, open woods and oozing the Compression Bandages would have made me uncomfortable and probably would have spread my infections if not cleaned properly. Skin Temperature may be affected more by the thickness of the Compression Bandages then if you only use a few layers of Rolled Gauze. You aren’t really going to know which bandages you can handle till you try them.

So don’t be afraid, it’s all a crap shoot anyway. Am I right? or Am I right!


Categories